Favorite books

Posted on

“One Cannot Count the Moons That Shimmer on Her Roofs, Nor the Thousand Splendid Suns That Hide Behind Her Walls”

Says Saeb-e-Tabrizi a 17th century Persian poet. This quote is from my favorite book, A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hoessini. I love this book, I have probably read it 6 or 7 times completely and about 10 times starting at certain favorite points.

I love the book for the rich plot and lovable characters. Before I read this book, I was an admittedly, a close minded person.  I was not a big fan of other religions. But now I know that there are good things about all religions, even though I am a devout Christian.

You could read this book without having to know much about Afghan culture or name pronunciation.

You could easily connect with the two main characters, Mariam and Layla. It is a story of struggle, love, pain, and overcoming the Taliban.

This is a wonderful work and I hope that one day I could be as good as an author as Khaled Hoessini

Leave a Reply

